Lesson Learned: Model First

I’ve completed the Michael Hartl Rails Tutorial and started my own web application this week. Check out my latest deploy on Heroku or the code on my GitHub.

Screenshot from 2017-06-19 16-04-08

My goal is to build a similar type of social media app, but with slightly different models focused more on groups. I made a lot of progress with the User model, however as I progress towards making groups, posts, and group administrators, I realize I could have done this tinkering in the beginning.

I did map out the Active Record Associations on paper before starting, but did not get it going in the Rails app. I’ve insulated it to a branch and a sandbox console of course, but on my next project I will solidify models before investing time in other features.

Leave a Reply

